Maegan Hayes – Online Porfolios Review

Site one:   htttp://www.lorntson.com/

This site’s design layout is quite nice.  I like the background photo a lot.   What I really like most about this site is its simplicity.  Everything is on one single page.  The pieces highlight when hovered.  And when clicked the pieces open in a nice fashion on a separate image that hovers about the main page.  I think it’s nice that you never have to leave the main page.   The site is elegant, direct, and easy to use.  However, there are a few things I might change.  One thing is the color of the typography.  The gray color doesn’t contrast enough against the background.  Also, the contact information is not apparent at all.  At first I thought there was none.  And for some reason it kind of bugs me that there is no logo to head the page.

Site two:   http://www.impressivework.com/websites.htm

I have seen this kind of layout before, but it just never seems to get old for me.  I like sites like these that are basic and clean, yet somehow have a cutting edge style about them.  A big part of this tone is given by the clean font and the pink and gray colors.  Pink and gray has a way of being refined, yet hip.  The spacing is also nice and the navigation is easy to locate.

Site three:   http://level9design.com/

This other site I got from another student’s review post.  I didn’t to repeat the same review.  But I just couldn’t help myself.  This one is my favorite by far.  in a word, the design is very “professional”.  That’s what I think when I look at this site.  Everything from the type to the images are perfectly laid out and thought out.  Spacing is extremely important.  It determines whether or not the user feels distracted and irritated, or comfortable and at ease.  This site has quite a bit of information.  But, it is not overwhelming because of how it is all laid out.  This site is extremely well done.

~ by maeganhayes on January 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
